Monday, June 27, 2016


Sonoma Raceway – Sonoma, California
Sunday, June 26, 2016

Race Winner: Tony Stewart
Age: 45
Team: No. 14 – Code 3 Assoc/Mobil 1 Chevrolet
Owner: Stewart-Haas Racing
Crew Chief: Mike Bugarewicz

IN THE WORDS OF THE WINNER "They're all good; it doesn't matter where you get them. But, we ran close to those guys all day. We just got stuck back in traffic. It's pretty ironic the last one we got was in a Code 3 car and I'm proud to do it again. I'm proud of Mobil 1 and Bass Pro and everybody. It's just an awesome job."

-       Tony Stewart


·         Tony Stewart won the 28th Annual Toyota -  Save Mart 350 at Sonoma Raceway Sunday afternoon. For Stewart, it was his 49th victory in 598 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races.  It is his first victory and third top-10 finish of 2016.  It is the second race in a row in which he has finished in the top-10.

·         Stewart's last win was at Dover International Speedway on June 2, 2013. There have been 110 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races since then; Stewart has started 84 of those races.

·         This is Stewart’s third victory and 10th top-10 finish in 18 races at Sonoma Raceway.

·         With Sunday’s win, Stewart now has a total of eight victories at road course tracks.

·         Stewart is now 32nd in the point standings, nine points out of 30th place and a spot in the 2016 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. Stewart must finish in the top-30 after the season’s 26 regular season races to qualify for the Chase.

·         Denny Hamlin (second) posted a career-best finish at Sonoma Raceway. It is his third top-10 finish in 11 races at the track. It is also his seventh top-10 and fifth top-5 finish in 2016.

·         Joey Logano (third) posted his fourth top-10 finish in eight races at Sonoma Raceway. It is his third consecutive top-5 and 10th top-10 showing this year.

·         Carl Edwards finished fourth, giving him his 11th top-10 and 6th top-5 finish this season.

·         Martin Truex Jr. (fifth) posted his seventh top-10 and third top-5 showing of 2016.

·         Kevin Harvick (562) leads the 2016 Sprint Cup points standing by 35 points over Kurt Busch (527).  The following are the top five drivers in points through the first 16 races:

Driver                                           Wins               Points
Kevin Harvick                                1                       562
Kurt Busch                                     1                       527
Carl Edwards                                 2                       510
Brad Keselowski                           2                       506
Joey Logano                                  1                       493

·         Ten drivers have qualified for the 2016 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, a list which includes Joey Logano, Kurt Busch, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth and Martin Truex Jr., all of who have taken checkered flags this year. With his win today, Stewart would also qualify so long as he finishes in the top-30 in points after the season’s 26 regular season races. The Chase culminates with the Ford EcoBoost 400 championship race on November 20 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

·         In 16 career Cup Series starts at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Tony Stewart has compiled seven top-10 and four top-5 finishes, including victories in 1999, 2000 and 2011. In 2002, 2005 and 2011, Tony Stewart celebrated his titles at Homestead-Miami Speedway after being crowned Cup Series champion.

Starting this year, the XFINITY and Camping World Truck Series will feature championship races at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 19 (NXS) and November 18 (NCWTS).  Four drivers will compete amongst a full field for their respective title. The following is a race recap from this weekend’s Camping World Truck Series race at Gateway Motorsports Park:

·         Christopher Bell won the 3rd Annual Drivin’ for Linemen 200 Camping World Truck Series race at Gateway Motorsports Park Saturday night. It is his second victory in 16 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races.

·         This is Bell’s first victory and fifth top-10 finish in 2016. It is also Bell’s first victory on asphalt. His first career win came at the Eldora Speedway dirt track, last season.

·         With the victory, Kyle Busch Motorsports ties Roush Fenway Racing for the all-time series wins lead with 50 victories.

·        Rookie William Byron leads the point standings by 1 point over Matt Crafton.

·         Through 9 races this season in the Camping World Truck Series, Christopher Bell, William Byron, Matt Crafton, John Hunter Nemechek and Johnny Sauter have qualified for the 2016 Camping World Truck Series Chase following their victories. Kyle Busch has also won a Camping World Truck Series race this season but is ineligible for the Camping World Truck Series Chase due to his full-time status in the Sprint Cup Series.