Monday, July 18, 2016



New Hampshire Motor Speedway – Loudon, New Hampshire
Sunday, July 17, 2016

Race Winner: Matt Kenseth
Age: 44
Team: No. 20 – Dollar General Toyota
Owner: Joe Gibbs Racing
Crew Chief: Jason Ratcliff

IN THE WORDS OF THE WINNER -- ““You’re always pleased to be in Victory Lane. The farther down the road you get, the better they feel for sure. Thanks to everybody at Joe Gibbs Racing – I’ve said it a million times, but I’m blessed with this opportunity to be over here with the guys I get to work with and my great sponsors – Dollar General and of course can’t do it without Toyota, TRD (Toyota Racing Development), Interstate Batteries, WileyX, Gatorade. Jason (Ratcliff, crew chief) and the team over there made great, great adjustments today. I didn’t do a very good job qualifying and after round one today it was pretty much money, we just had to get there. It was a fun day.”
-       Matt Kenseth


·         Matt Kenseth won the 24th Annual New Hampshire 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway Sunday afternoon. For Kenseth, it was his 38th win in 597 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races. 
·         It is Kenseth’s second victory and eighth top-10 finish in 2016. With the win, Kenseth becomes the fifth driver with multiple wins this season. Kenseth also won at Dover International Speedway on May 15.
·         In his 17-year career, this is Kenseth’s first victory in the month of July as a Sprint Cup Series driver.
·         It is Kenseth’s third victory and 18th top-10 finish in 33 races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
·         Tony Stewart (second) posted his 19th top-10 finish in 34 races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
·         Through Stewart’s 11 races this season, he has five top-10 finishes along with three top-5s in the last four races.
·          Joey Logano (third) posted his eighth top-10 finish in 16 races at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
·         For Logano, it is his 12th top-10 and eighth top-5 showing in 19 races this season, including six top-10s in the last seven races.
·         Kevin Harvick finished fourth in the New Hampshire 301, giving him 15 top-10 and eight top-5 finishes on the year.
·         Greg Biffle (fifth) had his best showing of the year. It is his third top-10 of the season, all coming over the course of the last three races.
·         Kevin Harvick (636) leads the 2016 Sprint Cup points standing by 14 points over Brad Keselowski (622).  The following are the top-5 drivers in points through the first 19 races:
Driver                                           Wins               Points
1.    Kevin Harvick                             1                      636
2.    Brad Keselowski                        3                      622
3.    Kurt Busch                                  1                      602
4.    Carl Edwards                              2                      587
5.    Joey Logano                               1                      571

·         Ten drivers have qualified for the 2016 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, a list which includes Joey Logano, Kurt Busch, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth and Martin Truex Jr., all of who have taken checkered flags this year. Tony Stewart, who won at Sonoma on June 26, would also qualify so long as he finishes in the top-30 in points after the season’s 26 regular season races. Stewart currently sits in the 28th spot with 287 points, three ahead of Landon Cassill (284), who is in 29th, and 13 points in front of David Ragan (274 points, 30th).  The Chase culminates with the Ford EcoBoost 400 championship race on November 20 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

·         In 16 Sprint Cup starts at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Matt Kenseth has posted four top-5 finishes and eight top 10s, including a win in the 2007 Ford 400. In 2003, Kenseth celebrated his first title at Homestead-Miami Speedway after being crowned the Winston Cup Series champion.

Starting this year, the XFINITY and Camping World Truck Series will feature championship races at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 19 (NXS) and November 18 (NCWTS).  Four drivers will compete amongst a full field for their respective title. Below is a race recap from this weekend’s XFINITY Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. The Camping World Truck Series was off this weekend:

·         Kyle Busch won the 27th Annual AutoLotto 200 XFINITY Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway Saturday afternoon. It is his 82nd victory in 321 NASCAR XFINITY Series races.
·         Erik Jones (second) posted his 11th top-10 finish in 2016. He was also the highest finishing rookie.
·         Daniel Suarez leads the point standings by 15 points over Elliott Sadler.
·         Through 17 races this season in the XFINITY Series, Erik Jones, Daniel Suarez and Elliott Sadler have qualified for the 2016 XFINITY Series Chase following their victories. Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon, Chase Elliott, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Denny Hamlin have also won an XFINITY Series race this season but are ineligible for the XFINITY Series Chase due to their full-time status in the Sprint Cup Series. Sam Hornish Jr. is also ineligible because he is not a full-time driver in the XFINITY Series.
·         The following are the points leaders in the Camping World Truck Series through 10 races:

Camping World Truck Series

Driver                                           Wins                    Points
1.    William Byron                             4                                 263
2.    Matt Crafton                                2                                 250
3.    Daniel Hemric                             0                                  221
4.    Timothy Peters                             0                                 216
5.    Johnny Sauter                           1                                  204
6.    John Hunter Nemechek          1                                  192
7.    Tyler Reddick                              0                                  192
8.    Christopher Bell                        1                                 191
·         Through 10 races this season in the Camping World Truck Series, Christopher Bell, William Byron, Matt Crafton, John Hunter Nemechek and Johnny Sauter have qualified for the 2016 Camping World Truck Series Chase following their victories. Kyle Busch has also won a Camping World Truck Series race this season but is ineligible for the Camping World Truck Series Chase due to his full-time status in the Sprint Cup Series.