Friday, November 17, 2017


Written by: Nathaniel P. Derrenbacher

Behind the tire smoke and intense track lights, a new champion has emerged in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series following the Ford EcoBoost 200 on Nov. 17. Finishing in the No. 2 position in the Ford EcoBoost 200, Christopher Bell becomes the winner of the 2017 Camping World Truck Series. Bell leaves the Truck Series in style with this championship, as he moves to race in the NASCAR XFINITY Series next year.

At only 22 years old, Bell has had many successes in his short career in the Truck Series. Prior to this year’s championship, Bell’s best finish in the final series standings was third place (2016). Bell finished the 2017 season with a total of five wins, 15 top fives, 21 top 10s.

“A dream come true just doesn’t even describe it,” Bell said. “For me to be at Kyle Busch Motorsports as long as I have and to go out a champion, which is something I’m really proud of, and I’m really proud that I’ve got all of our partners at JBL here to victory lane at Homestead-Miami Speedway for the championship.”

But Bell isn’t the only one leaving Miami a winner. Chase Briscoe took home the win in the 134-lap Ford EcoBoost 200. The victory clinched Briscoe the 2017 Sunoco Rookie of the Year award for his multiple successes this season.

“This is a long time coming,” said Briscoe. “I’m so proud of all these guys. To know that they’re not going to have a job next year and we continued to bring really good trucks even though we were outside the playoffs, it’s such a testament to how good these Brad Keselowski guys are. Thank you so much to Ford for believing in me.”

Ford Championship Weekend will continue on Saturday with the NASCAR XFINITY Series Ford EcoBoost 300 and the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 on Sunday.