Sunday, November 13, 2016


CAN-AM 500
Phoenix International Raceway – Phoenix, Arizona
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Race Winner: Joey Logano
Age: 26
Team: No. 22 – Shell Pennzoil Ford
Owner: Team Penske
Crew Chief: Todd Gordon
IN THE WORDS OF THE WINNER – “This feels so good.  I've never felt this good about a win before.  There was so much on the line and everyone brings their A-game when it comes to winning championships and this team did it.  Man, this feels so good.  I had a good restart there at the end and holding off Kyle to try to get this thing into Miami.  We're racing for a championship now.  We did exactly what we had to do.  We've got to go to Homestead and do the same thing.”

-Joey Logano    


·         Joey Logano won the 29th Annual CAN-AM 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Phoenix International Raceway Sunday afternoon. For Logano, it is his 17th victory in 290 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races.

·         It is Logano’s third victory and 25th top-10 finish in 2016.

·         It is Logano’s first victory and ninth top-10 finish in 16 races at Phoenix International Raceway.

·         Kyle Busch (second) posted his 15th top-10 finish in 23 races at Phoenix International Raceway.

·         It is Busch’s 24th top-10 finish through 35 races this season.

·         Kyle Larson (third) posted his second top-10 finish in six races at Phoenix International Raceway.

·         Kevin Harvick finished fourth on Sunday, giving him his 16th top-5 and 26th top-10 showing this season.

·         Kurt Busch (fifth) posted his ninth top-5 and 21st top-10 finish through 35 races this season.
·         Following the race at Phoenix International Raceway, the Championship 4 in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup is now set. The Championship 4 drivers are Jimmie Johnson, Carl Edwards, Joey Logano and Kyle Busch. The Championship 4 will race in the Ford EcoBoost 400 on Sunday, November 20, at Homestead-Miami Speedway for the Sprint Cup Series title amongst a full field of drivers. Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch and Kevin Harvick are the four drivers eliminated from Chase contention following the Round of 8.
The Championship 4
o   Jimmie Johnson- Johnson, a six-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, has the chance to be a part of NASCAR history as he seeks his seventh Sprint Cup Series championship, which would tie him for most all time with NASCAR Hall of Famers Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt. In addition for Johnson, the 2016 Ford EcoBoost 400 will mark the 10-year anniversary of when he won his first championship (2006). This season, Johnson has earned four victories, including one in the Chase’s Round of 8, 10 top-10 and 15 top-5 finishes. In 15 starts at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Johnson has four top-5 and 10 top-10 showings.

o   Carl Edwards- On Sunday, November 20, it will be five years to the day of when Edwards lost out on the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title to Tony Stewart on tiebreakers, the closest championship finish in NASCAR history. During this year’s Ford EcoBoost 400, Edwards will once again vie for the first Sprint cup Series title of his 12-year career. In his 2016 Sprint Cup Series campaign, Edwards has celebrated three wins, including one in the Chase’s Round of 8. He also has posted nine top-5 and 18 top-10 finishes. At Homestead-Miami Speedway, Edwards has two victories in the Ford EcoBoost 400 (2008 and 2010), along with five top-5 and seven top-10 finishes in 12 starts.

o   Joey Logano- Logano will compete in his second Championship 4 race at Homestead-Miami Speedway, with his first coming in 2014- the inaugural year of the new Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup format. In the Ford EcoBoost 400, Logano will vie for the first championship of his career and the first title for the Ford manufacturer since 2004 when Kurt Busch took home the championship. In seven starts at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Logano has one top-5 and two top-10 finishes, with his best showing coming last year where he finished fourth.

o   Kyle Busch- In the Championship 4 race on Sunday, Busch will have the chance to defend his 2015 Sprint Cup Series title and become the first driver to win consecutive championships since Jimmie Johnson (5 championships from 2006-2010). Busch will also compete for back-to-back victories in the Ford EcoBoost 400. On the season, Busch has celebrated victories at Martinsville Speedway (April), Texas Motor Speedway (April), Kansas Speedway (May) and Indianapolis Motor Speedway (July). In 11 starts at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Busch has one victory, two top-5 and four top-10 showings.
The 2016 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season will culminate at Homestead-Miami Speedway this Sunday, November 20, with the Ford EcoBoost 400, where the Championship 4 will compete for the series title. The race will also be broadcast live on NBC at 2:30 p.m. ET.

Tickets for NASCAR’s 2016 Sprint Cup Series Ford EcoBoost 400 championship race at Homestead-Miami Speedway are available and can be purchased by calling (866) 409-RACE (7223) or visiting